top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMillie Kelly

PCA TAKES OVER THE CLIPPER



PROPOSAL SENT TO THE CAREERS OFFICE:


Mending circle and clothes swap:

People are to bring their broken, holey, ripped garments and their sewing kits. I will help advise, encourage and teach people how to mend their clothes. I will bring down a domestic sewing machine which I will use for larger fixes / zips etc.

I will provide scrap fabrics for patches, and zips. The scrap store is open on Thursday all day - so we can easily get more supplies if needed.

Plus my own sewing supplies for those who don’t have them.

No Whey Tacos will be there all day for food and drinks.

I would prefer to be there for 3 hours at a time on Thursday and Friday. Ideally in the afternoon / evening. I think this will be most appropriate for people who are working in the day to be able to come along.


For this event I would need the main space at the front of the clipper. It has the space for people to sit, sew, and socialse.



In addition to this I will host a clothes swap. I will need a couple of rails, so people can hang up items for swapping, and with a token system, people can exchange for new items.

Leftover clothing will be donated to the nearest charity shop.



15th March 2019:

I met with Megan Wright who is organising the event. It was great to get a clear idea of where I will be positioned in the Clipper, what she needs from me and that she understands the proposal.

I have been given the tables as you first walk into the Clipper. She suggested that I have my mending circle on the Friday 3-6pm, and the clothes swap on the Saturday 3-6pm. This makes the most sense to me also, as a clothes swap can take a long time to set up and put down. Plus I don’t think I could have both running at the same time with the limited space given.

Megan said that there will be a van to take equipment down, which is great.

I will need a couple of sewing machines, and a clothes rail - all of which Lesley said I can borrow from Fashion.

I am considering taking down my domestic overlocker as well. I think this will make some mending really easy.

Megan asked me to make a poster for my event.




22nd March 2019:


I set up my equipment and my table in the designated space. I am really pleased that I was in the main bar area because it felt the most relevant space for my mending table. Some of the other stall holders were really friendly and all were really interested in what I was doing. Jade Rodgers came down and mended her trousers, it was great to sit and sew in a social way. Machine sewing is quite solitary in comparison.

I really love the clipper inn as a venue, it just doesn’t get that many people coming through as it is far out from the city centre.

23rd March 2019:

I decided to set up the mending circle again. This is because no one handed in clothes for the clothes swap. That didn’t matter too much, as in all honesty I didn’t have that much room for a clothes swap to happen. Overall, I really liked being down at the clipper inn, and I want to support it as a venue for creatives to use. I spoke to one of the owners, and she talked to me about the Union Street take over in September. They are looking for creatives to apply with ideas for stalls or exhibition ideas. I am really excited about that, and I really feel like Plymouth is slowly on it’s way to having more creative things happening. I want to be part of that.







0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page