top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMillie Kelly

TOAST: NEW MAKERS PROGRAMME





"Unique lifestyle brand, creating and curating simple, functional clothing.

Commitment to traditional textiles and craftsmanship.

NEW MAKERS PROGRAMME: will support and mentor 5 emerging markets; offering business and marketing advice, and a digital and physical platform to sell their pieces."


30th Jan 2019:

TO APPLY I WILL NEED:

  • 3 high res images of work

  • Finish off one of the wraps with a bodice piece

  • Will need to book out cove

  • Photographer

  • Model for wrap garments

  • Styling pieces

  • 150 words describing my background, practice, product, materials, where I create my work

BACKGROUND:

  • Study at PCA , Fashion BA

  • Grew up in Devon; tiny village by the River Tavy

  • Make through feeling, anti-fashion and trends. Pro maker, craft of sewing

  • Led by practice based research of jumpsuit wearing to a wrap around skirt / trouser with detachable bodice -- nod to modular design

  • Using end of roll, remnants, waste fabrics -- ‘unifying’ them with over dying , stitch details , fastenings

  • Work at PCA


Questions from application that I need to think about:

  • 6 pieces of product available ? NOT YET ^ put in the 150 words

  • Recommended retail price?

  • How many can I make in a 3 month period?

  • How long does it take to make a single product?


8th Feb 2019:


PHOTO SHOOT:

We shot my garments yesterday; using Emily Goodwin as model, and Ben Stevens as photographer and co-stylist.

Ben is 3rd year photography student at Plymouth Uni, recommended to me by Ffion. I booked out the Cove studio, and was able to book out cameras and lights for the shoot.

Due to Emily living with me, I was able to spend time with her at home so we could go through her clothes and shoes to see what pieces might go with my garments.

In the end, we used my polo blouse as the base top, my fishnet tights, socks and her brown, wedge heeled, doc martin boots. Then we shot both wraps. First the wrap with the bib and, then it into trousers. 20 mins in, Ben then said he wanted to plait Emily’s hair so he gave her 2 french braids. It was really good that it felt like everyone was contributing.

Ben listened well to what I wanted; for the lighting I wanted something soft and warm. I felt this is best in line with Toast’s website.



Ben and Emily are both really keen to shoot again. Ben has ideas for location shoots which is really exciting.

All in all, the shoot felt really good and I am pleased that I have a little team to help me out in the future. Previous experiences with shoots in comparison have been so odd.

I think perhaps to have a stylist might be really helpful; I do find it difficult to do this for my own work especially as it is so based on my own style. I think it could produce interesting shoots with someone else's styling ideas.



12th February:

I am still waiting on Ben to send over the images for the shoot, really hope he can get them to me today.


150 words describing my background, practice, product, materials, where I create my work -


I am a 3rd year Fashion BA student at Plymouth College of Art. Growing up in a remote village, away from the major cities, has really influenced my designing and making. For this product, I discovered designs through wearing a workwear jumpsuit for a month. My modular wrap around garment can transform from dungarees to a pinafore, or by taking the bib off, a skirt or trousers. I use end of roll fabrics, giving life to waste and I unify them in the garments by overdying, stitch details and fastenings.

I try to make garments which can be used in many ways. In order for the user to be able to play with the clothes, styling them in a way that suits them. The more a garment can do, the less clothing is needed in a wardrobe.


13/02/19:

The images from the shoot I chose to use are these:






TOAST has announced their five new makers. Most are 3D craft; bowl makers, wooden spoons. There is the House of Quinn who are quilt makers. Overall, I can see from who they have picked, that my craft wasn't what they were looking for. I am still pleased I applied however, and I have now got some really clear images of my garments so far.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page